PWHL Original Six Clubs Tease Team Colours – SportsLogos.Net News

The brand-new Professional Women’s Hockey League is starting to get set for their quickly upcoming inaugural season by teasing the colours of its “original six” franchises.

Earlier this week, each of the six official “X” team social media accounts changed their profile and cover photos to a generic graphic featuring the league name “PWHL” along with their respective city name — what was most interesting for us was, of course, the colours displayed for each team.

The account for the team from Boston showed green, Minnesota purple, Montreal dark red (or maroon), New York teal green, Ottawa red, and Toronto light blue.

Here they all are together:

Some have speculated, based on the colours the Boston team could be shamrock-themed, and the New York club clearly appears to be State of Liberty-themed (personally, I’m hoping the Minnesota franchise is Blades of Steel-themed).

No date has been set for the official announcement of these team names or logos. All six teams are co-owned by the PWHL as well as the Mark Walter Group. It is expected the inaugural season will get underway this coming January.

The PWHL replaces the Premier Hockey Federation (former NWHL), which existed from 2015 to 2023. PHF/NWHL teams included the Boston Bride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan (New York) Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, Montreal Force, and the Toronto Six.

Here are the team logos from that final PHF season:

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *